Today I finally had opportunity to unpack the stretcher bars i had recently ordered – giant sizes, 96″ 93″ . So now my work will begin as I build them and stretch the canvas. A few will be used to restretch a few earlier paintings that for some reason I took off stretchers awhile back. I am looking forward to seeing them again.

I recently completed a large 6′ x 6′ painting for my upcoming February exhibition – this is from my poetry series which references how language can interpret the visual world or how we use language to reinterpret what we see. This one is connected to a poem by Cortazar. More soon on this. Poetry will be written along the outside edges on this one.

New work by kathryn arnold based upon a Cortazar poem, size 6' x 6', oil on canvas

New work by kathryn arnold based upon a Cortazar poem, size 6′ x 6′, oil on canvas