Beginning a new large work in the studio. This is where I currently am – it will be a few days before it is dry enough to work again. If you begin at the bottom of this post and scroll upwards you will see how the work is evolving. I am hoping to title it “My Uncle’s Birds” but that is aways off. I am interested in how many bird paintings there are in SF and references to birds in an area where there are not many. My uncle, who is an avid photographer and monk, has been sending me bird photographs for a few years now. He instilled in me at a very young age an interest in cataloging birds and I created my first bird book at the age of 7. I have ideas of how they will fit in but the ideas may change as they are actually a fluid state, an ebb and flow. My work – I like to think of as an orchestra of color – a symphony of jazz – relying upon perception and experience of the moment.

today again, the 6th of october, kathryn arnold, 100 x 100"

today again, the 6th of october, kathryn arnold, 100 x 100″

today, the 6th of october

today, the 6th of october, kathryn arnold, 100 x 100″

the day after, kathryn arnold, 100 x 100"

the day after, kathryn arnold, 100 x 100″

dash of white, kathryn Arnold, 100 x 100"

dash of white, kathryn Arnold, 100 x 100″

two days later, kathryn arnold, 100 x 100"

two days later, kathryn arnold, 100 x 100″

I do find favorite parts as i work so it begins to me about the process of letting go and accepting change. How do I make decisions? At this stage it is all about relationships, of part to whole and part to part. Also energies – how aspects begin to co exist and relate to each other as well as intuition.

the next step, kathryn arnold, 100 x 100"

the next step, kathryn arnold, 100 x 100″

The very beginning, Kathryn Arnold, studio

The very beginning, Kathryn Arnold, studio, size 100″ x 100″