During July I have been working with a cluster of lighter paintings; a few of them in process are shown here. They function as an interlude between the more brightly colored works – I am interested in the idea of doing more with less, ‘less is the new more’ – perhaps this is related to the economy and the lost buying power of the consumer.

I discover the color relationships do not engage the eye in the same way as the brightly hued works and the figure/ground relationship is more accentuated. Need I say that I love Robert Ryman’s work and the show I saw of all of his almost completely white works years ago at the SFMOMA was inspiring. Since I have never worked with this particular limiation, I find it a very new experiment. It also ties in with the Samurii exhibtion here in SF at Asian Art Museum – ideas of mastery, zen, white light and actually ties the sense I had in Robert Ryman’s show – that I was ‘home’ – together.

As I have worked on them I get the experience of my actual color field works in a snowstorm and I enjoy how the identifiable interactions of color begin to be submerged. It also has similar effect as fog – maybe the visual influence for these came about during my recent hikes at Sand Dollar beach/Jade Cove south of Big Sur where the fog kept moving in and out – giving room for definition and then wiping it completely away.

These works are still in process and may change dramatically – however the yellow/white one is near completion. With one you can see the light gray grid – a tribute to Agnes Martin – plus also introduces a formal element into this broad space I have been comfortable with – using it to create definition, in this case with this very white space.

I will post these works up here when they are completed so my process and decisions can be seen. There is one not posted here – it is still so unresolved and may not be positioning or inferring its completed state as of yet.

untitled 4' x 5', unfinished

untitled 4' x 5', unfinished

untitled 4' x 5', unfinished

untitled 4' x 5', unfinished

untitled 4' x 5', unfinished

untitled 4' x 5', unfinished