I am in Los Angeles for the CAA conference. Yesterday I went to Ray Bradbury’s home, Clifton’s and through Pershing Park taking photos for the project. Then last evening I joined the tour to the Getty. Quite beautiful (I have been here before), but never at night.

Getty Museum at night, Los Angeles, CA

Getty Museum at night, Los Angeles, CA

Here is another view overlooking Los Angeles from the Getty Museum:

Overlooking Los Angeles from the Getty Museum next to the Research Facilities

Overlooking Los Angeles from the Getty Museum next to the Research Facilities

Today I went to 4 seminars/workshops/presentations.

Grantwriting for Artists

Creative Capitol’s recent project award artists (3 artists working with video and photography and digital/new media presented their works)

Digital Portfolio Development covering Web 2.0 media.

NEA Grant Information presentation.

Tomorrow I will cover the downtown art galleries and museums and then end the day with the Getty Villa.

The whole sense here is that there is no recession, neither LA and or the conference. Quite a different feeling than the perceived doom and gloom in the Bay Area. Everyone is out at night and seems as if all night long.

The atmosphere at the CAA conference is not the same as at a tech conference (of which I’ve been to many) or artists’ presentations. It seems to be more about the information presented rather than the presentation methods themselves.

I hope to post more images and information tomorrow. Good night, Kathryn